Welcome to Mobilarian Forum - Official Symbianize forum.

Join us now to get access to all our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, and so, so much more. It's also quick and totally free, so what are you waiting for?

SPORTS: PBA: June Mar Fajardo named PBA's Most Valuable Player

jughead3716 50


Alpha and Omega
Jun 28, 2014
Reaction score
10 years of service
June Mar Fajardo named PBA's Most Valuable Player

By Carlo Pamintuan | Yahoo PH Sports - 50 minutes ago


Yahoo PH Sports - June Mar Fajardo wins the Most Valuable Player of the Conference award. (PBA/Nuki Sabio)

From a tall kid from Pinamungajan, Cebu, June Mar Fajardo is now the PBA's Most Valuable Player.

Fajardo saw basketball as nothing more than a way to get a college scholarship. He joined a walk-in tryout with the University of Cebu in 2007, hoping that the school would take the gamble on him because of his height. From a kid who didn’t know how to play basketball, Fajardo is now the best baller in the land.

Only in his second year in the league, Fajardo bested fellow Best Player of the Conference awardees Ranidel De Ocampo and Jasyon Casto and the ageless Asi Taulava to take home the PBA’s most prestigious individual award.

“Nagpapasalamat ako sa lahat ng bumoto sa akin,” Fajardo said. “Nagbunga lahat ng pagsisikap ko sa basketball.”

Fajardo however said that his family could not celebrate in full as they are now mourning the death of his uncle.

“Kahit na may sakit na siya dati, kahit di na mak****o, pinipilit niyang tumayo at sumigaw pag nakaka-score ako,” shared Fajardo. “Itong award ko dedicated rin sa kanya.

The PBA’s Mythical First team included the four MVP contenders and San Mig Super Coffee point guard Mark Barroca. Barroca was not a top finisher in the statistical race but he was given the nod because of the success of his team and his 2014 Philippine Cup Finals MVP award.

The the PBA Mythical Second Team was composed of Rain or Shine’s Paul Lee, San Mig Super Coffee’s PJ Simon and Marc Pingris, Ginebra’s Greg Slaughter, and Alaska’s Sonny Thoss.

Slaughter was also named the Rookie of the Year award besting fellow rookie big men Ian Sangalang and Raymond Almazan.

Aside from his MVP award and Mythical First Team inclusion, Fajardo took home two more awards as he was also named as the Most Improved Player.

Fajardo was also named as a part of the All-Defensive Team with Pingris, Rain or Shine’s Gabe Norwood and Jireh Ibanes, and San Mig Super Coffee’s Pingris and Barroca.

Willie Miller was given the Sportsmanship Award, dethroning two-time winner JVee Casio.

Top Bottom